Winter Tournaments

They Happen Every Winter

The Alabama Winter Tournament Association (AWTA) for the American Saddlebred Horse Association of Alabama (ASHAA) has grown since I started riding in 2012. It was originally only three shows and you had to do two of the three to qualify for the points banquet. The tournament has now grown to encompass four shows with three to qualify.

So, I’ve been showing for a few years now. Ok, 6 now 7 years (I did math!). But I have only been showing in the Acadmeny level, which is the learning level for Saddleseat. Performance level breaks up like other show groups into Novice, Amatur, and so on. Well, in the AWTA things are done a little differently. OK… very differently. There is Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced. Which means, that if you are an Academy Rider and enter into an Advanced class you are going to be showing against Performance Riders. No pressure, right?

Last year I showed in the Intermediate Walk, Trot, Canter division and the year before I was in the Beginnger Walk, Trot, Canter, because I had just moved up from Walk, Trot. This year my trainer put me into the Advanced Walk, Trot, Canter. I know you’re thinking, “progression of moving up”, but no.

My trainer had replacement surgery in say November and these shows started in December. This winter has been extremely wet for the state of Alabama. So, honestly I have not had a lot of time to train and/or practice.

Why is Advanced Bad?

Advanced means that I am riding against people who have better horses and more experience than me. BUT.. that’s not the problem. The problem is that the Equitation class, where you show off how well you can equitate, has a PATTERN.

I’m gonna say it again… PATTERN.

I have done Dressage patterns on my Quarter Horse, who seems to like Patterns. BUT they take practice like anything. I found out about my pattern on the Thursday before the Saturday of my show.

Much to everyone’s dismay… NO, I did NOT know the pattern. Some how at the first show we got out of doing the pattern and no one every gave me or told me there was a pattern. So… I HADN’T BEEN PRACTICING IT! I decided to work on my Nemisis, the Canter Ciricle (Circles and Staight lines are the Nemisis fo any artist), as practice for Saturday.

I get to the show on Saturday with my Trainer and I go directly to the show Secretary and ask for a copy of the pattern. Unfortunately, she did not have any extra copies, but this being the wonderful Technology Age that it is… I took a picture of it.

The Pattern

That’s not my thumb… and it’s not a suggestion.

When I got the Wonder Pony, A.K.A. Fleetwood, ready, I took him into the warm up ring and we did some circles. The practice wouldn’t be enough to get us 100% ready for doing the pattern in the smaller indoor arena that has closed metal doors at both ends, but it was better than nothing.

Needless to say I was a NERVOUS wreck in my first class. I messed up on my diagonals and my pony stumbled throwing me off. We finished up that class and I got 6 out of 6. Then, the dreaded second class was on with 4 people and a pattern.

I found myself in the arena with two other Academy riders that I ride with and a Performance rider. People with experience doing patterns and such on the horses they were on. The Performance rider called a hold to change horses and I found myself singing up a wee song I made up in my head to help my nerves. The class went on and I concentrated on getting everything I could correctly that was not part of the pattern.

We came into the line up and I got to watch two riders go ahead of me in the pattern. But I found myself planning in my head as I watched them.

I would approach the trot as if it were nothing and I would use my first halt to take my time getting into and the canter. Fleetwood’s left lead is a tad tricky, so I knew I needed to take my time to get it right. The second halt would be a good pause to get me ready to do another nice relaxed trot to the line up.

I was on deck and as I got into position to start the pattern I sang to myself, “I’m going to fall off as I try to circle…” Not really paying attention. Some girls giggled as I circled my pony and sang as I waitied to go.

I was up. It was time. I asked for a trot, started on the correct diagonal and switched twice as directed before coming to my nice halt next to the LARGE metal door. I took a deep breathe and began to ask for my canter lead. Fleetwood not really liking the door, didn’t take the first request. But he took it two steps later in the corner directly next to the door.

The circle started with us on the correct lead. A solid turn to the left. Some minor leg cues, a whip tap and me remdining him “canter” with my voice. The halt was in sight so I started my talk to stop him before we got to the spot so he’d know to stop. And we stopped. I took another breathe and trotted back on to the line up.

I sat in the lineup proud of my interpretation of a pattern I had just recieved and awaited the judge’s placing. First place went to an Academy rider and second to the performance rider, but THIRD that came to me.

I was so excited… I patted my pony got my ribbons and went to my excited trainer and daughter. Then, I was greeted by my excited boyfriend with his two children.

My confidence grew three times that day.

4 comments

Leave a comment